Home >

Welcome to Adventist Singles Connection

All free guest memberships include a free photo personal ad, free browsing, free matching, and the events calendar. Subscribing members access live chat, message boards, Mingle Mail, and more! To browse through thousands of photos and start meeting other singles, click here.

Introduction

What's up? Let's see, I recently moved to Michigan for professional heatlhcare training after living in Southern California. So obviously, I'm trying to get to used to this strange thing called "winter". Anyway, I love to travel, love disco music (yes, you read correctly), and having fun on the dance floor. I enjoy learning new things like Spanish (which I'm fluent in) and skiing (...which is a different story altogether!).

I'm somewhat of a reluctant artist in that while I rarely sketch anymore, I still enjoy museums and the celebrated and ignored works of art life and society bring. Because I've lived abroad a bit, I appreciate diversity. There's so much to learn from a comapolitan enviornment (which reminds me--I gotta get out of Grand Rapids : )

I'd love to chat sometime, so send me a message.

Have a good one!

Top

Basic Information

GenderMale
LocationGrand Rapids, MI, USA
Age36

Top

About Me

Height5' 11" (180 cm)
BuildAverage
HairBlack
EyesBrown
Relationship StatusSingle - never been married
Children0
Children home0
SmokingNever
DrinkingNever
Religious Involvementevery week
EducationProfessional degree
Field of Workhealth professions
EthnicityBlack / African descent
Languages SpokenEnglish

Top

Fun Facts

MusicClassical, Dance/Disco, Jazz, Movie Soundtracks, Oldies, Gospel/Religious Music, Soft Rock, Soul/Rhythm and Blues
Favorite bands and musiciansThe Richie Family, Out of Eden, The Carpenters, Jamiroquai
MovieAction/Adventure, Documentary, Drama, Foreign Films, Musical, Mystery, Suspense/Thriller
Favorite movies and actorsGone With The Wind, Moulin Rouge, The DaVinci Code
Favorite TV showsmost things on PBS, Law & Order, Dancing With The Stars
Outdoor activityBiking, Camping/Hiking/Fishing, Horseback riding, Tennis, Traveling/Sightseeing
Indoor activityArt, Dancing, Games, Movies/TV, Music, Opera/Theater, Reading, Restaurants, Shopping
My idea of a great tripSpending a month visiting culturally relevant towns in Greece
FoodAmerican, Chinese, French, Indian, Italian, Mediterranean, Mexican, Spanish, Thai, Vegetarian/Vegan
Favorite restaurantsMarianades Pizza Bistro, Rafav's, Macaroni Grill, Chipotle's
PoliticsModerate
TimelinessI am usually on time
As for fashionI'm a somewhat fashionable person

Top

Match Preferences

Top

Essays

What I'd like to do on a first date...

I say let's grab some cameras and go on a walk-- on a nature trail, through the nearest busy city, or my neighborhood--and snap pictures of the elaborate and the simple. Then we could eat (which trust me--I am ALWAYS up for). There's some cool international resturants that we could check out. And I say, end the day by catching an off-broadway show or a hocky game. That being said, I'm also cool with catching a movie and ordering take-out : )

My past relationships have taught me...

I've learned to be honest...sides. Lol, it will not be just like a romance novel or movie. The perfect woman doesn't exist. And for record--I'm completely aware that I'm not perfect either. I feel like, in a relationship, there has to be a willingness to accept some faults in your other half, because everybody has faults. I guess what I'm trying to say is that I believe a relationship is about the other person. Selflessness may not be an easy thing--but it is a necessary thing in a relationship. Compromise. Honesty. These are not just good ideas or suggestions. They are crucial to the foundation of a a friendship that has the potential to become something more.

And not to sound cliche, but God has got to be the center. Its just not gonna work as well if He isn't.

To me, being an Adventist means...

Currently it means having a hope that I should want to share with others. I'm taking part in a bible prophecy seminar at my church to reacquaint myself with some of the things I believe in.

I'm a PK and have always been in an Adventist environment for the most part until now. My influence, therefore, has become more of a concern because I do want to reflect Christ's character. Witnessing has always been difficult for me, but I have already had opportunities to share my faith in the past few months. There are a lot of areas I still need to improve. I'm praying that the Lord will continue to help me grow.

In five years, I see myself

Hopefully, married to my best friend and living in a house and neighborhood where we feel good about starting a family. God willing, career-wise I will be in a place where we can travel to Europe, South America, Austrailia, Africa--basically everywhere, lol! On a personal note, I'd be done with learning French and focusing on learning German. Ideally, I'd be attending a great church with progrssive thinkers and committed followers of Christ. Community is important the older you get, so I pray the Lord blesses me and my household with a great community. And I won't lie, I hope that community is not located in Grand Rapids, Michigan : )

One final thing I'd like to mention...

I hope my answers aren't too wordy. But for me its kinda hard to put everything about me into 1 or 2 sentences. I guess we're all trying to find someone to connect with and experience life with. And we're all pretty complex to make everything even more complicated. But the bottom line is that I'm a man who loves the Lord and I'm ready to share my life with a woman who loves Him aswell. Its that simple. --All the best

View Photos (3)

Lake Michigan shore

Core Color = Blue

  •   blue: 51%
  •   white: 43%
  •   yellow: 4%
  •   red: 2%

Blues Are

AnalyticalCommitted
CompassionateDedicated
DeliberateDependable
EmotionalLoyal
NurturingSeek Quality
RespectfulSincere
ThoughtfulWell-Mannered