Home >

Welcome to Adventist Singles Connection

All free guest memberships include a free photo personal ad, free browsing, free matching, and the events calendar. Subscribing members access live chat, message boards, Mingle Mail, and more! To browse through thousands of photos and start meeting other singles, click here.

Introduction

Hello!

I am a woman who knows what she wants, and doesn't want. When you get to be in the 50-something crowd, you have history. Life happens to all of us and no matter what anyone says, it shapes who we are today—good or bad. You can't leave all your baggage behind. If you could, you'd be leaving yourself. You ARE a compilation of struggles AND defeats, victories AND accomplishments.

Needless to say, I'm not perfect and neither will anyone I meet be. The key to a successful relationship is: 1) Depending on God, 2) Having faith and loyalty, 3) Treating your partner with respect and even better!

Top

Basic Information

GenderFemale
LocationHuntsville, AL, USA
Age50

Top

About Me

Height5' 5" (165 cm)
BuildI'll tell you later
HairDark Brown
EyesBlue
Relationship StatusDivorced
About ChildrenI have children and would welcome yours
Children4
Children home2
SmokingNever
DrinkingNever
Religious Involvementevery week
EducationSome College
Field of WorkStudent—only 3 classes left! French with a minor in Graphic Design and Communication Arts
EthnicityCaucasian / White
Languages SpokenEnglish, French

Top

Fun Facts

Self-descriptionAn eclectic person with a lot of patience, a busy life & a dry sense of humor.
MusicClassical, Classic Rock, Contemporary, Movie Soundtracks, Oldies, Gospel/Religious Music, Soft Rock
Favorite bands and musiciansDallasHOLMES, AmyGRANT, Beatles, Maroon5, BonnieRAITT, BetteMIDLER, StevieNICKS, Little River Band
MovieAction/Adventure, Comedy, Drama, Foreign Films, Mystery, Romance
Favorite movies and actorsFolks, TheNotebook, IncrediblyLOUD&ExtremelyCLOSE, TomHanks, RyanGosling, SamElliot
Favorite TV showsMad Men, The Middle, The Good Wife, 19 & Counting, The Little Couple; Mystery NOT Horror
Outdoor activityAutomobiles/Motorcycles, Biking, Camping/Hiking/Fishing, Photography, Traveling/Sightseeing
Indoor activityArt, Charity/Volunteering, Computers, Dancing, Games, Movies/TV, Music, Restaurants, Shopping, Weightlifting
My idea of a great tripRelax, destress, enjoy my companions, the beach, museums, Boston on July 4th , Anchorage anytime
FoodAmerican, Barbeque, Chinese, European, French, German, Greek, Italian, Jewish/Kosher, Mediterranean, Mexican, Vegetarian/Vegan
Favorite restaurantsNot spicy—I'm allergic to pepper, Snow City Cafe, The Moose's Tooth, Starbucks, local finds, Newk's
PoliticsConservative
Schools attendedShenandoah Valley Academy, SMC/Southern College, Auburn Univ Montgomery, Univ of Alabama Huntsville
TimelinessI am usually a little late
As for fashionI dress to be comfortable

Top

Match Preferences

AgeBetween 48 and 55 years old
DistanceAny
HeightBetween 5' 7" (170 cm) and 6' 3" (190 cm)
Body TypeWashboard, Athletic, Average, I should maybe lose a few, I'll tell you later
EducationTechnical School, Associate degree, Professional degree, Some College, Bachelor's degree, Graduate Student, Master's degree, Doctoral degree
Relationship StatusDivorced, Widowed
Religious Activityevery week
SmokingNever
DrinkingNever
EthnicityCaucasian / White, Hispanic / Latino

Top

Essays

What I'd like to do on a first date...

A first date is the time to get to react to each other and pick up on subtle body language. Is there a connection? A spark? Talking and enjoying each other's conversation, whether that's at a nice restaurant, on a picnic, out on a boat or whatever else inspires interactive communication.

My past relationships have taught me...

I have learned to be open and to share my heart, to not take my spouse for granted, to stand up for my faith, and to spend time alone with my spouse every day.

To me, being an Adventist means...

I know the truth—that Jesus is God's son who came to earth to save me from my sin and end the suffering of the world. It means honoring the Sabbath. It also means knowing the plan of salvation, knowing the Great Controversy between Heaven and Satan.

Being a third generation Adventist, it's all I've ever been. I can make and eat haystacks in my sleep. :)

In five years, I see myself

Only God has the answer to this, and I'm looking forward to what He has in store for me.

I know what I think I want—a life with a partner who believes like me—in the Sabbath, in doing God's will, in having a Christian home, in working through problems, not in divorcing because of them. It takes two people committed to this to make it happen.

But even more, I want Christ to live in me and to have a close relationship with him. I truly want Him to lead me where He wants me at this point in my life.

My favorite Bible passage is...

I have many favorites, but to get a glimpse at me, you should know that I love the story of David and Bathsheba, Job, the Prodigal Son, and Adam and Eve, including Cain and Able.

If God is so merciful on these people and their sins, then I know that he will forgive me and live in my heart. These Bible stories give me hope and assure me of God's love for even me.

Every day I when I read the scriptures, I think I have a new favorite. I don't think I can, or even want to limit myself to one favorite. Recently I read Isaiah 51:1-23 and it has inspired me. Tomorrow, is a new day and might bring with it a new favorite.

One final thing I'd like to mention...

I have 4 kids—2 are adults, with 2 grand kids from 1 of them. I also have an 8 & 12 yr old. There’s 18 years between "litters", but I wouldn't trade my babies for anything. I wish I had more energy to keep up! I'm looking for someone who will accept me with my kids but who is not looking to have more. I'm way past starting over! I just want a happy blended family. So, 'I have kids & I do NOT want any more," is about having babies. I'm not referring to the fact that by our age, we usually already have grown, teen or tween aged kids. If you have kids, that's fine. God is the matchmaker who leads us together, His plan is what I want.

I’m a 3rd gen Adv. I think of myself as a middle of the road Christian. I try hard not to fall into either ditch. Not that I haven't. I’ve been über-conservative & also very liberal. It's part of a journey. I try hard to encourage my kids to study their SS lessons & to read. My 12 year old is studying for baptism next summer at camp. I'm very proud of him. (br (span="" style="background-color:yellow;"))I graduated from SVA & attended several colleges. I'm currently at the UAH in Huntsville. Over the years, I've changed my major a few times, but my interests have been creative, & geared toward advertising/public relations. I've studied Communication Arts, French, & Art Studio—Graphic Design. I only lack 2-3 classes before I graduate.

I'd love to work for a non-profit, or with the GC developing SS lessons for kids. I could see myself organizing events, preparing layout & design work, or many other things in public relations. I could also see myself getting a teaching cert., & being a French teacher to K-8th grade. I thoroughly enjoyed my internship at an elementary school.

I prefer to be in the background. It's satisfying to know I've accomplished or taught something to someone, achieved something concrete. I much prefer it to being the front line victim (as in the one getting blamed for everything! lol).

I’ve taught Cradle Roll & K for 30 years, give or take, & I love working with kids. I'm very patient with them, but glad when class ends! (My 2 are enough! lol) I love teaching them the Bible stories & creating an environment in the room that is engaging for them. As for generosity, I don't know any SS teacher that doesn't spend a small fortune buying things for their class. I love seeing a need & taking care of it instead of passing the buck and waiting for a committee to approve the request to fund it. It's fun doing things for others.

I like to cook, but not fixing dinner. “What's for dinner?”—drives me crazy. If I cook, I don't want to be the one to clean up & vice versa. I can't eat spicy foods & I'm allergic to black pepper. Off limits are unclean meats & seafood. I do occasionally eat beef or chicken. I think of myself as a flexitarian.

I love travel, but I don't get to as much as I'd like. I'd love to go back to Europe to visit France, Paris—in particular, but also Normandy, Nice, & Colognes, Greece, Italy, Norway, & many others.

I love word games—Scrabble, Ruzzle, & word searches, etc. Sounds crazy, but I enjoy proofreading & finding mistakes! Even my own! lol I hate to see grammar & spelling corrupted.

Currently, I live in north Ala., but I'm anxious to move back to New Eng. I'm originally from Conn., & I want to raise my youngest kids there. I love Conn., but Maine, New Hamp., & Mass., are lovely, too. I am particularly fond of Boston, but not the cost-of-living there! Besides New Eng., I'd love to move back to Alaska & live in the Anchorage area. I miss living in Alaska so much! I lived in Fairbanks over 3 yrs.

View Photos (8)

Driving home 2-7-15

Core Color = Blue

  •   blue: 58%
  •   red: 19%
  •   yellow: 19%
  •   white: 4%

Blues Are

AnalyticalCommitted
CompassionateDedicated
DeliberateDependable
EmotionalLoyal
NurturingSeek Quality
RespectfulSincere
ThoughtfulWell-Mannered