Home >

Welcome to Adventist Singles Connection

All free guest memberships include a free photo personal ad, free browsing, free matching, and the events calendar. Subscribing members access live chat, message boards, Mingle Mail, and more! To browse through thousands of photos and start meeting other singles, click here.

Introduction

At 16, I had my life planned out~ see America from the back of my boyfriends motorcycle (what boyfriend?), join Peace Corps, go to Europe, get a degree, marry at 25, have one child, adopt one, celebrate my 50th wedding anniversary. Life has a way of planning itself for you. Since none of my plans materialized, exception, Europe, I became a little softer on making plans for myself. I've been an intensely adventurous person in my life, which set me up for more than a few surprises ... Eventually met up with my good friend wisdom along the way. Am the first Adventist in our family. My decision transferred me to single parenthood within 2 weeks of baptism. Have had a powerful conversion experience which seems to be taking all of my life ~ of which I've been granted a wonderful one by a loving Savior. I love sharing what Jesus has done for me by being who I am, caring for people, listening to their heart stories, helping where I can. The "Advent Movement" and it's initiator-Jesus Christ, lover of mankind, is my life and what I live for, and this has come thru the "breaking of this wild horse"- literally. "Brokenness is realizing He is all we have. Hope is realizing He is all we need. Joy is realizing He is all we want." Friends have told me I'm unpretentious. I'm spontaneously warm & embracing, (watch out, i give unexpected hugs!) Love libraries, home-life, organic gardening, grandchildren, motorcycles, mt. climbing, flying, caves, danger, different cultures, languages. Appreciate a man who has a big heart for God & humanity, esp. children; a courageous, rugged, intellectual gentleman. I am constantly on the go but love spending a rare day on the balcony in the warm air when I can. I hope you love kids, cuz I can't live without them, they bring humor & mischievous fun to life. Appreciate spontaneity within regularity. I'm a bit intellectual, yet crave the practical, real side of life. Love good music, good food. Life is pretty fulfilling, yet it would be sweeter sharing it with a lovable guy who loves life and whole-heartedly engages it!

Top

Basic Information

GenderFemale
LocationSandy, OR, USA
Age62

Top

About Me

Height5' 6" (167 cm)
BuildSlender
HairWhite
EyesGreen
Relationship StatusDivorced
About ChildrenI have children and would welcome yours
Children4
Children home0
SmokingNever
DrinkingNever
Religious Involvementevery week
EducationProfessional degree
Field of WorkEsthetician
EthnicityCaucasian / White, Other
Languages SpokenEnglish, German

Top

Fun Facts

Self-descriptionfun loving, caring, flexible, curious mixture of simplicity & complexity
MusicBlues, Classical, Contemporary, Country/Western, Folk, Movie Soundtracks, Oldies, Opera, Reggae, Gospel/Religious Music, Rock n Roll, Soft Rock, Soul/Rhythm and Blues
Favorite bands and musiciansAndré Bocelli, JaimeJorge, Celtic Women, André Rieu
MovieAction/Adventure, Cartoons, Comedy, Documentary, Drama, Foreign Films, Musical, Mystery, Romance, Western
Favorite movies and actorsTen Commandments, Cast Away, I've seen some very fine movies, can't remember names.Don't watch often
Favorite TV shows3ABN, Documentaries, Charlie Rose, Antique Roadshow Oregon Fieldguide, left my TV at Sally's
Outdoor activityBiking, Birdwatching, Camping/Hiking/Fishing, Gardening, Horseback riding, Photography, Sailing, SCUBA Diving, Swimming, Traveling/Sightseeing
Indoor activityArt, Cars, Charity/Volunteering, Collecting, Cooking/Culinary arts, Crafts, Music, Opera/Theater, Politics, Reading
My idea of a great tripxploring America, visiting family, flying, mission field
FoodAmerican, Barbeque, South American, Cajun/Southern, Caribbean/Cuban, Chinese, European, French, German, Greek, Indian, Italian, Japanese, Jewish/Kosher, Korean, Mediterranean, Mexican, Persian, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai, Vegetarian/Vegan, Vietnamese
Favorite restaurantsClean, love nature views, small town cafes at 9am, you catch the local "heartbeat"! Vegetarian
PoliticsOpen Minded
Schools attendedWWC, Esthetics Apprenticeship/Germany.
TimelinessI am usually on time
As for fashionI'm a somewhat fashionable person

Top

Match Preferences

AgeBetween 52 and 75 years old
DistanceWithin 1000 miles of Sandy, OR, USA
HeightBetween 5' 4" (162 cm) and 6' 6" (198 cm)
Body TypeSlender, Washboard, Athletic, Average, I should maybe lose a few, Large but muscular
EducationHigh School, Technical School, Associate degree, Professional degree, Some College, Bachelor's degree, Graduate Student, Master's degree, Doctoral degree
Relationship StatusDivorced, Widowed
Religious Activityevery week
SmokingNever
DrinkingNever, Rarely
EthnicityAfrican, Asian, Caribbean, Caucasian / White, Hispanic / Latino, Native American, Pacific Islands, Other

Top

Essays

What I'd like to do on a first date...

I always like to get away from commotion and do something casual and relaxing so you can hear each other talk. A walk, a drive, a quiet cafe...it's easy to find something.

My past relationships have taught me...

The world is rich with people way different than myself. My hardest, best lessons came from them.

To me, being an Adventist means...

The truths of the Word of God mean everything to me, but most of my religion has been hands on, living what I believe. It's a real privilege tho, & responsibility to belong to a movement that will carry the last distinct message of love and biblical truth to a confused & hurting world of fellow humans.

In five years, I see myself

Hang with kids & young people more - they are good therapy for what ails me ; D
Pick up where I left off in high school art class ...
Learn to read music & play an instrument.
Build my own "non-toxic" house, no plastics, chems, etc. Is that possible?
Finish the book I've started to write.
Start a children's choir.

My favorite Bible passage is...

Romans 8:1 "There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus." I like the "no condemnation" part.
The day I came to the end of myself was a terrifying day, after that, it became a day of release, followed by the best ever news! "... for those in Christ Jesus." Pretty simple, yet the verse knocks at my core nature. It took me 31 years of being a christian for the light to go on. I have to read that verse often.

One final thing I'd like to mention...

Pictures tell you something about a person ...
I'm a very diverse person . . . comfortable in a castle or cabin, before kings or common people. I can be the most flamboyant or plain Jane.
I've had to live a lot of extremes in life, have learned to adjust.
I live by choice, in a very simple mountain hut with a few surrounding neighbors, about 40 miles out of PDX, where I hear & see wildcats, bear, deer, elk, etc.
Not off the grid yet, just like going to sleep to the sound of a bubbling brook, the wind in the pines, the smell of sweet, clean air against exhaust fumes, & seeing the Milky Way!
I feel happy when I'm growing something.
I'm the happiest when I can see my grandchildren often.
Lived a looong time in Germany-not in the military
I once homesteaded a 140 acres in Alaska.

View Photos (8)

Mammoth Hotsprings

Core Color = Blue

  •   blue: 36%
  •   yellow: 24%
  •   white: 24%
  •   red: 16%

Blues Are

AnalyticalCommitted
CompassionateDedicated
DeliberateDependable
EmotionalLoyal
NurturingSeek Quality
RespectfulSincere
ThoughtfulWell-Mannered